Act for the making and keeping navigable the Rivers Aire and Calder in the County of York 1698
The Aire and Calder Navigation, which is the canal parts of the Rivers Aire and Calder, began to be used in 1704 after an Act of Parliament was passed supporting the venture in 1698. It is still used commercially today for freight boats, but also for pleasure boats visiting the redeveloped Leeds Waterfront. The Aire and Calder Navigation is now run by the Canal and River Trust which was created in 2012. The River Calder is right next door to the City Fields development. WYAS Wakefield hold 333 boxes worth of material relating to the Aire and Calder Navigation, which is a part of the C299 British Waterways Board and Predecessor Companies Collection. It includes mainly financial records and working papers. WYAS Wakefield also hold WYW1374 William Martin Engineer Aire and Calder Navigation Correspondence Collection. Martin was the Manager of the Navigation from 1775 to 1797 and the letters in this collection concern colliery arbitration and cargoes from Hull, Castleford and Knottingley.
Hold and drag to see more detail in the image